Song of the Day: May 5, 2017

YFN Lucci’s “Everyday We Lit” featuring PnB Rock is the quintessential rags-to-riches hip hop track.

This is clear from the get-go when YFN Lucci raps “I came up from nothing, nigga, you can’t tell me shit, yeah / Did it on my own, check out my neck, check out my wrist, yeah.” It’s not mind-blowing, it’s certainly not a new concept, but it’s Lucci proclaiming his success to the world.

This is an anthem of success directed at kids from the projects who want to make it big. Lucci himself admits that he never expected “[life] to be like this,” but now he’s swimming in money and living it up.

PnB Rock’s verse steers along the same lines:

I ain’t goin’ back broke, never, now a nigga gettin’ rich
I did it all on my own and nobody gave me a loan

PnB and Lucci have the added bonus of having it done by themselves. No one gave them a freebie, meaning that they can enjoy their self-made success even more. Again, this verse isn’t revolutionary, but it’s catchy, to the point, and doesn’t really matter at the end of the day because of the head-bobbing beat and catchy chorus.

“Everyday We Lit” is a great song to add to a motivational playlist or simply vibe out to at a turnup.

Leave a Reply

