Song of the Day: April 18, 2017

XXXTENTACION made his return on April 18 with the release of “Slipknot” featuring Kin$oul and Killstation.

X starts the song by talking about how he won’t fall off or be led astray. This most likely references his previous prison sentence and upcoming trial. Despite all of his troubles, X is determined to persevere. X also uses some clever, but basic wordplay by breaking down the word “slipknot” (also the title of the track) into “slip not” (not slipping).

Won’t fall my nigga, I slip not
I won’t be dead, misled, ahead, I never break, uh
Won’t fall my nigga, I slip not

In his next verse, X once again refers to his troubled past and uncertain future. He’s not sure what’s next for him because of his pending trial in May for alleged aggravated battery.

And due to my history, I don’t know what’s next for me
But keep my composure, fuck over anyone next to me
[…]
I’m not self-aware, I’m misled, I’m a hypocrite like the rest
I will kill myself if it benefit all of my fucking friends
I’m sorry mama, I didn’t mean to fucking hurt you

However, X wants to stay true to himself and make it up to those he’s hurt. The versatile Floridian artist has a moment of self-realization where he acknowledges that he’s been surrounded by bad influences, but he’s looking to prove his worth.

XXXTENTACION’s flow and vocals in “Slipknot” are both good and different, as his followers have become accustomed to. His raspy voice contrasts nicely with the piano-infused, contemplative beat.

Kin$oul and Killstation’s features are fine, but nothing memorable. Kin$oul’s appearance is very brief, but he’s able to make a distinction between where his soul (heaven) and mind (hell) are. Killstation’s outro shows his vocal range, but feels slightly out of place after X’s and Kin$oul’s verses.

Leave a Reply

