Song of the Day: March 23, 2017

Lil Uzi Vert raps about how fame has changed his life in “Do What I Want.” The song was released as a part of his 2016 mixtape, The Perfect Luv Tape.

The energetic intro sets the theme for the song. As one would expect from Lil Uzi Vert, “Do What I Want” is not a lyrical masterpiece. Instead, it’s a spirited proclamation of his success and freedom from other nefarious influences.

Everybody know I’m better, yeah
Yeah, I’m better, yeah
It don’t matter, aye
Pocket fatter, aye
Nowadays I’m on my haters they got sadder, aye
That’s money longer, yeah

Lil Uzi stays consistent to his trap-based style of music with short, catchy verses over a drilling beat. He doesn’t deviate from what has made him big. He’s flaunting his success to all his naysayers.

Boy I started on the bottom, made my way to the top
Boy I’m gon’ keep winning, no I cannot stop
‘Member I had a little, turned that shit to a lot

The main criticism of “Do What I Want” is how generic and unoriginal it is in terms of its message. Rappers from every tier of the game can rap about starting from the bottom and making it big. It’s not exactly a revolutionary message, but the fact that it’s still a constant in the hip-hop world shows just how effective it is.

And them boys back home be talking but I won’t get touched
Stay to myself how I survive, no one who I trust
No one who I trust
Who them niggas? No, they not with us
All these girls, yeah they ride with us
I don’t pay ’em no mind, because I just want the bucks

Now that he’s in the limelight, people want to mooch off Lil Uzi, but he’s not letting that happen. It’s gotten to the point where he’s not even able to trust his friends from back home because they just want to use him. The Philly-born trap artist then once again throws his success at their faces by showing them all that want to be with him.

If you are looking for an introspective song with tons of wordplay and double entendres, “Do What I Want” is not for you. Instead, it’s a fun song with an exciting beat and a catchy hook.

Leave a Reply

